(410) 825-6062 aaron.kelly@lfg.com

About The GCCF

The Greater Chesapeake Charitable Foundation is a non-profit composed of insurance and finance industry professionals dedicated to improving the communities where they live and work.

Our Mission

To improve the physical and financial wellness of Marylanders in need by volunteering time and donating resources.

GCCF represents the following Insurance and Finance Industry Associations:
 

  • BAHU
  • CPCU
  • FPA
  • NAIFA
  • SFSP
  • WIFS

Our History

We have deep roots that trace back to 1939, but we have only been known by our current name since 2012. Originally known as the Baltimore Life Underwriters Charitable Foundation, the focus was on providing orphans with gifts for the holidays.

With a vision of creating an endowment so that future generations could continue their dedication to community service, the Board expanded their reach and participation. Rather than continuing to exist as the Charitable Foundation of the Baltimore Life Underwriters, other associations representing the insurance and financial services industry were invited to have a seat at the table and form The Greater Chesapeake Charitable Foundation.

Today, the Board represents the Maryland Chapters of the CPCU Society, Financial Planning Association, National Association of Insurance and Financial Advisors, Society of Financial Services Professionals, Women in Insurance and Financial Services, and the Baltimore Area Health Underwriters. We plan to continue our expansion to meet the growing needs of the Baltimore metropolitan area.

Our Goals

  • Give our time and/or money to various non-profit organizations whose efforts are in alignment with our mission.
  • Encourage greater community involvement by the members of our associations
  • Ensure the continuity of the charitable programs of Greater Chesapeake Charitable Foundation.
  • Instill the spirit of volunteerism in the insurance and financial services communities.
  • Reinforce the integrity of the insurance and financial services industry.

Our Board Members

Executive Director and Vice President

Aaron Kelly
aaron.kelly@lfg.com

President

Katie Caple, CPCU
Association Membership: CPCU
kcaple@rcmd.com

Treasurer

Sandra S. Patterson, CLTC, ACBC
Association Membership: NAIFA, BAHU
spatterson@pfg-benefits.com

Board Member

Don Arnold
Association Membership: SFSP
donald.arnold@lfg.com

Board Member

David Beck
Association Membership: NAIFA
dbeck@diservices.com

Board Member

Christie Tinio
Association Membership: MAHU
ctinio@dominionnational.com

Board Member

David Bobbitt
Association Membership: BAHU
david@probenefitsplus.com

Board Member

Mary Dunlap
Association Membership: WIFS
mary@marydunlapconsulting.com

Board Member

Lori Houser, CPCU
Association Membership: CPCU
lori.houser@thehartford.com

Board Member

Marla Knight
Marla.knight@usi.com

Board Member

Joe Kostkowski, CPCU
Association Membership: CPCU
joe.kostkowski@zurichna.com

Board Member

Board Member

Monique Spagnola
Association Membership: BAHU
mspagnola@dominionnational.com

Board Member

Mark Sucoloski
Association Membership: NAIFA, BAHU
msucoloski@rcmd.com

Board Member

Alex Supplee
Association Membership: SFSP
alex.supplee@gs.com

Board Member

Tynai White-Barrett
Association Membership: NAIFA, BAHU
Twhite-barrett@gbsio.net

Past President

Geoff Suval
gsuval@comcast.net

Immediate Past President

Steve Pursley, CLU
Association Membership: SFSP
spursley@mid-awa.com

The Brian D. Walsh Service Award

The Brian D. Walsh Service Award was created in 2013 to honor a friend and colleague who served on the GCCF Board and gave his time and talent to many organizations. This award is presented to an active member of the insurance and financial community who demonstrates a selfless, generous spirit and extraordinary community service, much like Brian D. Walsh did. Although this award is not presented every year, we celebrate our past recipients:
 

  • 2017 Recipient – Jeff Lang
  • 2016 Recipient – Tim Cummons
  • 2015 Recipient – Edel Blumberg

Nominate a Professional

To nominate a professional for the Brian D. Walsh Service Award.

X